Республика Сан-Марино

San Marino is a tiny country surrounded on all sides by the territory of Italy. The Republic consists of nine ancient walled cities: the eponymous capital city of San Marino, the fortress of Borgo Maggiore, Acquaviva, Faetano, Serravale, Fiorentino, Domagnano and fortresses Chezanuovo and Montegiardino. The image of the walled cities is formed by numerous old houses, narrow streets, terraces, remnants of fortifications and lanes typical of medieval towns.

The territory of the Republic of San Marino is hilly. The highest point is Monte Titano, a mountain with three adjacent peaks. A picturesque medieval fortress tower is located on each mountain peak. It is kind of a symbol of the Republic.

The main architectural attractions of the Republic of San Marino are Palazzo Pubblico (Government Palace), the Basilica del Santo, St. Quirinus Church, as well as many unique churches and medieval castles, whose well-preserved original appearance is maintained by local citizens. It is worth visiting the unique Museum of Curious Things.

Every year in the second half of July the capital acquires the appearance of a medieval city. The locals dress up in clothing typical of the Middle Ages, the streets are filled with fortune tellers, courtesans, musicians and craftsmen. Taverns offer traditional medieval dishes in their menus. Cinzano Grand Prix World Motor Racing Championship is held every year from the end of August to beginning of September. At the same time sports events are arranged on the Monte Titano within the motor racing subject. The most important event of the summer is Pink Night. This is a festival in pink colors accompanied by a variety of concerts and shows. Events and festivals held in San Marino during a year attract thousands of tourists and leave imperishable impression in their hearts forever.

Brief information about San Marino
Area: 61.2 sq. km
Capital: San Marino
Population: 32,404 (as of 2012)
Official language: Italian
Currency: Euro